Mind the Leap: Introduction

BlogIntroIt’s been a long time since I created this blog.  I wrote a lot of draft posts, but never edited or posted them; until now.  The best place to start is probably a more detailed description of the things that I want to cover in this space.  Hopefully it will not only inform potential readers of what they might expect from this blog, but also keep me on track to writing on the main topics I want to share ideas on.

First: My day job (although I’m not currently getting paid) is postgraduate research on robot intelligence.  As one of the few PhD students who hasn’t become jaded after working on the same research topic for years, I still find studying robotics and artificial intelligence really engaging and enjoyable.  A part of this blog will be devoted to talking about these topics, but usually at a non-technical, conceptual level.

Second: Intelligence is such a fraught term though, that I have spent a lot of time looking into the underlying neuroscience and thinking about biological intelligence, consciousness, the mind and the brain.  This continues to be a big influence on my approach to robot intelligence.  While the some additions in the path to the evolution of the human brain might not be necessary for functional robot intelligence, people are the primary example of the general intelligence we want in our robots.  Some of this blog will discuss how neuroscience and cognitive science might translate into AI and robotics.

Third: As the brain becomes less of a mystery, the soul is no longer a necessary hypothesis.  Physicalism, the belief that the world is only matter and energy and without a spiritual dimension, is a starting point a lot of my thoughts about the world.  A significant amount of what I would like to discuss is more philosophical in nature.  While I usually try to have a scientific underpinning—or use a thought experiment as an intuition pump—philosophical, moral and ethical issues often remain disputable.  Nonetheless, I think about these issues, and I think they are important enough that another voice can’t hurt.

Those are the main themes and topics this blog will cover.  The style of writing is something I want to be conscious of too.  There are a fine lines between entertaining and obfuscating; informative and long-winded; and concise and plain.  Many of my drafts were possibly drifting towards long-winded attempts to be entertaining.  With a personal credo of trying to improve at all things I do, I’ll look for a balance.  Humour, like morality, is subjective.  But that doesn’t mean there aren’t ways of doing these things better.  Potential readers beware: there’s no telling what you’ll be subjected to.  Even, sentences that a preposition they end in.  Yoda would be proud.  Or really disappointed.  Or just confused… I’m not sure.  ( Lame grammar joke, Star Wars reference, and smiley face: check. 😀 )

Leave a Reply

